Day 354 – Eggnog

Hello Yearlings!

For me nothing really says Christmas quite like the seasons foods that you can’t get any other time of year. I imagine if I lived anywhere else on the planet it would be the weather that made it feel like Yuletime, but as this is Texas it’s seventy degrees outside a week before Christmas. To get my household more into the spirit of the thing I decided to make us some eggnog, one of those aforementioned seasonal foods, from scratch.

IMG_8913.jpg
In a medium sized bow mix your 1/6 cup of sugar gradually into your egg yolks until the sugar is dissolved. Then stir in your cream, milk, nutmeg and bourbon. In a separate bow whisk your egg whites into soft peaks then gradually add your 1/2 tablespoon of sugar and continue whisking until you get stiff peaks. Stir your egg whites into your milk mixture and serve immediately. 

Ingredients:

1/6 cup sugar, 1/2 Tablespoon of sugar

1 1/5 oz Bourbon

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Cinnamon (optional)

I had never made eggnog from scratch before so I really had no idea what I was in for. I did know that it had a lot of dairy and a lot of booze, so that made it good in my book. I also added a bit of cinnamon, mostly because I prefer cinnamon to nutmeg any day of the week, but it isn’t necessary.

I will say that because this recipe calls for uncooked eggs, it’s best served immediately while it’s still very chilly. You can easily search the web for cooked alternatives in case you don’t feel like risking. As long as you use pasteurized eggs, however, you should be safe. Again, I reiterate, if you don’t feel comfortable using uncooked eggs or don’t want to use booze then you can tailor it to your exact desires without losing any of the quality of the drink. You just won’t be quite as historically accurate.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

