Day 343 – Watermelon Margaritas

Hello Yearlings!

So, last weekend for Traci’s birthday party I might have mentioned how the signature drink of the night was a watermelon margarita. I didn’t think anything of it, because I love watermelon margaritas, until someone asked me for the recipe and I realized that I had never posted it here like I meant to. I sincerely apologize for that because watermelon margaritas are the heavenly elixir of the gods and as most fresh summer fruits are long out of season, this is a great way to incorporate those summer flavors during the barren winter months.

IMG_8659.jpg
Place all of your ingredients into a blender and whizz up until desired consistency is reached. Garnish with a wedge of frozen watermelon.

Ingredients:

1 handful frozen watermelon

1 handful ice

1 oz tequila

.5 oz Grand Marnier

2-3 oz margarita mix

We make our own in house margarita mix out of fresh lemons, limes and simple syrup; then we freeze it in these large one ounce portioned ice trays so we know exactly how much to use. I love this method and I cannot recommend  it enough. When it comes to frozen beverages you’re looking to incorporate as little liquid as possible because it causes the drink to be too thin. Also, be cautious about adding too much ice. It’s better to have a slushier drink than to have a watered down drink once your ice begins to melt.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

