Day 342 – Potato Latkes

Hello Yearlings!

I feel as though I should preface this by saying that I really, really, really don’t care for latkes. It’s not so much that I hate them as it is that if I were given the choice between latkes and almost anything else that I’m also ambivalent on, it would not be latkes. In my experience they are flavorless, tasteless, little cakes of oil that spew grease and lack any real substance. I know somewhere in my mind that they’re meant to resemble potato’s in some way, but I find that they rarely do.

The only thing worse than a potato dish that lacks any real potato taste, is the potato dish that someone over zealously emptied an entire crate of shredded onions into. Really the latke is not a dish so much as a delicate dance that must be done to make all of the ingredients shine and not drown in frying oil. I have to say that despite my distaste for latkes, my friend Jess decided that we should give them a go. So I did and, as it turns out, I make the best latkes I’ve ever had. 

12349469_10153321162148660_1087762789_o
Shred your potato’s and onions in your food processor, being sure to squeeze them free of any excess water using towels or cheese cloth, then add in the rest of your ingredients to a large bowl and combine thoroughly. 
12356071_10153321162188660_880547762_o
Shape into roughly hamburger sized patties and pan fry in about a half an inch or so of oil. This is the coloring that you’re looking for. Anything darker than this and they will burn. 

Ingredients:

1.5 lbs of russet potatoes, well washed and shredded using your food processor attachment, unless you’re a masochist then you can do it by hand

1 onion, well shredded in your food processor as well

2 eggs

1/2 cup breadcrumbs

1 heaped tablespoon corn starch

Apple sauce and sour cream for serving

I love Hanukkah. It’s the one time of the year that you have an order on high to eat donuts and indulge in other delicious fried goods. these fry up beautifully, but you do have to be cautious about overcooking. You’re looking for a light golden brown, anything past that and it will continue to cook and before you know it, it’s burned. Granted, I love the super crispy bits so I don’t mind as much when they’re a bit over cooked.

These latkes are light, fluffy and remarkably dry despite being fried in a pan of oil. This recipe also makes about 12, so that’s more than enough for you and your more adventurous friends. Now that I know I don’t actually dislike latkes, I’ve got all sorts of plans for them. Latke breakfast sandwiches anyone? Sweet potato latkes? Gourd latkes? The possibilities are endless when you know something doesn’t actually suck.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

