Day 334 – Cornbread

Hello Yearlings!

I realize that everything has been all food all the time and I’m really not even remotely sorry. Food is amazing and the holiday season is the perfect time to check out new and exciting recipes. It’s also a great time for learning, such as learning that cornbread is considered a “southern” food by many. I was unaware of this, I just figured it was a staple of life, but many of my friends that are further from the equator tell me its not as common in their lives as it is in mine. I suppose that makes sense when you think of cornbread as a staple of the cattle rustlers diet, but there are cowboys all over the world, so there’s really no excuse.

My mother will cringe when she sees this because she hates sweet cornbread and thinks it can’t possibly be proper cornbread unless it’s made in a skillet. I, however, love sweet cornbread so when I stumbled across this recipe I was understandably excited. Alex claimed that with a bit of cheese and bacon it would have been perfect. He’s entitled to his opinion, even if it’s wrong.

IMG_8578.jpg
Mix your wet ingredients in a bowl one by one then whisk together your dry goods and mix them into your wets being careful not to over mix or make anything separate.
IMG_8579.jpg
Bake for 20 minutes or so at 400 F or until a beautiful golden brown. 

Ingredients:

1 cup (120g) cornmeal

1 cup (125g) all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (115g) unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled

1/3 cup (67g) packed light brown sugar

2 Tablespoons (30ml) honey

1 large Eggland’s Best egg, at room temperature

1 cup (240ml) buttermilk, at room temperature

This cornbread is so delicious I had trouble leaving it alone long enough to cool. I kept coming back to the pan and picking at it a little bit. I won’t be surprised if it doesn’t last more than about a day. I also appreciate that unlike a lot of cornbread’s it doesn’t come out grainy, but moist and delicious with a little bit of sweetness. Now all I need is a gigantic pot of homemade broccoli cheese soup and I’m set.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

