Day 299 – Melted Wax Wine Bottles

Hello Yearlings!

Surprisingly I actually own very few proper Halloween decorations. I now own a lot of things that I’ve turned into Halloween decorations, but I’m just not much of a store bought kind of gal. The downfall of all of this is that when I strapped for time it’s usually because I’ve come to that part of the month where everything is already sold out anyway unless I want something plastic and mildly animatronic. That’s just really not my style, so I figured I would try my hand at making some cool looking Halloween decorations for my party this weekend.

This craft is also crazy simple. The hardest part is probably just the sitting there standing relatively still. You could easily do this while you’re watching a movie, like I did. There are about a million Halloween movies on my list right now to make it through before Saturday. I’m tempted to post a list here for you guys of some of my favorite Halloween movies, because I’m not a horror person, but I thought that might be a bit lame and I doubted anyone would be interested in it.

Literally all you have to do is use a long tapered candle to pour wax down the side of your clean bottles. You're looking to re-create the effect of melting candles in your bottles. You're trying to use a few candles to make it look like you've been melting countless candles in since time immemorial. Then once you've got a good base coat, if you've got the time, you can just start melting candles regularly so that you can build upon your base and it looks more natural this way. 
Literally all you have to do is use a long tapered candle to pour wax down the side of your clean bottles. You’re looking to re-create the effect of melting candles in your bottles. You’re trying to use a few candles to make it look like you’ve been melting countless candles in since time immemorial. Then once you’ve got a good base coat, if you’ve got the time, you can just start melting candles regularly so that you can build upon your base and it looks more natural this way.

Ingredients:

Clean wine bottles

Tapered ivory candles, the cheaper the better

Repeat this process for about four or five more bottles so that you’ve got enough for either a centerpiece or to place sporadically around the house. Either way these will for sure add a witchy addition to your house on Halloween. Just having these around makes me feel like a Sanderson sister. I will probably keep these around all year long.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

