Day 288 – Candle Making

Hello Yearlings!

I’m sure that you guys have probably figured this bit out but when I posted about dyeing wax and making your own essential oils, what I was really doing was setting the groundwork for candle making. I had never done it before and it just seemed like such a huge undertaking that I thought doing a bunch of small test run style projects might work better so I didn’t psych myself out and try to take on a huge project all at once. Not that candle making is really particularly difficult, it’s more so the fact that it’s daunting if you’ve never done it before. As with all things.

I don’t feel like I was particularly secretive, but I was actually really nervous about trying this craft so I wanted to give myself a way out in case I totally bombed this hardcore. Thankfully I think it turned out ok, though I guess I won’t really know until I burn it and see what kind of payoff I get from it. I’m not even sure how long I have to wait to burn it. There’s a lot of “candle lore” as I call it that states that you have to wait weeks for the payoff to be any good at all if you burn it before then you’re basically just melting a mound of wax and wont get any of the scent at all so it’s a total waste. I’m not really sure how all of that works out, but I think that it has something to do with the concentration of the scent and the scent to wax ratio. Again, I have no idea I’m just sort of guessing here because everything I read seems a little different.

Basically all you have to do is melt the wax according to the same instructions that I posted in my other wax post. You're looking for about 125 F - 130 F and once everything is thoroughly melted and combined with no chunks then you're ready to go but you need to work quickly so that this doesn't cool before you've made something with it. This would be the time to add your scent as well but make sure that doesn't cool the mixture too. 
Basically all you have to do is melt the wax according to the same instructions that I posted in my other wax post. You’re looking for about 125 F – 130 F and once everything is thoroughly melted and combined with no chunks then you’re ready to go but you need to work quickly so that this doesn’t cool before you’ve made something with it. This would be the time to add your scent as well but make sure that doesn’t cool the mixture too.
Stand your wick into your mold by whatever means you can manage, then just pour in the wax around it. Then it's as simple as leaving it to set for several hours. 
Stand your wick into your mold by whatever means you can manage, then just pour in the wax around it. Then it’s as simple as leaving it to set for several hours.
You're going to have a lot of imperfections, unless you've got specific candle making equipment, and that's ok. In mine you can see that it was on an uneven surface and that it has sunk a little. I know that there are ways to avoid this, but as I'm not doing it professionally I don't think that it matters much. 
You’re going to have a lot of imperfections, unless you’ve got specific candle making equipment, and that’s ok. In mine you can see that it was on an uneven surface and that it has sunk a little. I know that there are ways to avoid this, but as I’m not doing it professionally I don’t think that it matters much.

Ingredients:

2 oz Soy Wax Flakes, technically I used a little less because I didn’t want it to overflow

1 crayon, whatever color you like

Wick

Scent, I basically just winged it here but using a lot of coffee essential oil so we’ll see what happens

Shot Glass

Candles, as it turns out, really are just a matter of melting and pouring and it feels like nothing could be easier but I’m not so sure. I could have easily screwed everything up super bad and just not know it yet. On the upside it came out super pretty and I’m really excited to burn it. Cleanup is kind of a beast though so you can just let everything cool and scrape the wax off of thing if you like. That seems to be the easiest solution. I will say that working with the soy wax did make my hands feel super moisturized though. That in its own right might have been worth it. Now I just get to play the waiting game until I burn it, but I think I might preemptively make a few more votive style candles for Halloween so I have something to burn.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

