Day 240 – NY Day 1

Hello Yearlings!

So remember yesterday, how I was in Austin? Yeah, I drove home yesterday, unpacked, repacked and went immediately to bed only to wake up at 4 am to get on a plane to go to New York City. It is safe to say that I might be a bit exhausted. I have still yet to perfect the art of sleeping on an airplane so I’m still running on about five or so hours of sleep. Thankfully the flight here was easy and we were out into the city basically the second that we landed.

We took a taxi from the airport to our hotel in Manhattan and I don’t think I’ve ever been so thoroughly intrigued to just sit in traffic and watch the world outside happen. Though, seriously, I have no idea how anyone gets around in this town for any stretch over about two miles. I can see why public transportation, such as the subway, are such a huge deal here. In a city of 8 million it would be literally impossible for everyone to own a car and the cars that are on the road cause endless congestion. New York is the closest that I’ve come to seeing Italy style driving in the US. This is also my first ever trip to NYC so I guess I was just really unsure of what to expect.

By far the most interesting place I've ever sat in traffic.
By far the most interesting place I’ve ever sat in traffic.

The first thing that we did the second that we got to our hotel, aside from checking in, was eat. We found a little restaurant called Via Brazil which had some of the best risotto I’ve ever had in my life. Everything was delicious and the friends we were traveling with actually speak Portuguese, as they’re from Brazil, so they could explain everything on the menu to us. There is literally just stuff everywhere in NY. It’s not like in Dallas where there are large swathes of untouched space. Every ounce of property has a shop or hotel or apartments on it. I don’t know how they ever got permission to build Central Park considering how many luxury apartments they could probably fit in there.

There was some light exploring to be done today, but we were on a bit of a time crunch because we had to be at the rehearsal dinner by six. If I haven’t mentioned already we were in NY for a wedding that Alex was a groomsman in so we had a pretty short window of exploring to do today. Mostly we just hit the major sights that were close by. We saw Rockefeller Center, Times Square and a bunch of other famous things that I don’t remember why they’re famous in the first place. More importantly we went into the LEGO store and pretended like there was nothing weird about five twenty-six year old’s looking at, and shopping for, LEGO’s. Cue the gaggles of screaming children trying to bowl us over at every turn.

LEGO store was super badass.
LEGO store was super badass.

We really didn’t get to see much today because by the time that we had eaten lunch, walked a couple of blocks to be the proper tourists that we were, we already had to come back to our hotel and get ready for dinner. Now, I knew that in my mind the spaces to sleep in NY had to be small to accommodate all of the people that want to live here, but I guess I didn’t realize just how small that was. It’s not even something I can complain about it was just so surprising to fit 4 people into about 500 sq feet when I had spent the earlier portion of the week in a hotel in Austin, by myself, that was the size of a Dallas apartment. Despite the lack of size we did manage to get four people showered, dressed and ready with plenty of time to spare.

Then we walked over to the Harvard Club, watched the happy couple rehearse their imminent ceremony and then all went to dinner together. Somewhere between walking to dinner and walking back to the apartment I managed to get two huge blisters on both of my feet and am now essentially going to be roaming the street of Manhattan with open sores on my feet, lovely I know, so I’m not too excited about that but I’m planning on buying band aids first thing in the morning. Dinner was lovely and the company was even better, so if a couple of sores is all that I can complain about then I guess I’m having a really great first time in New York.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

