Day 219 – Knitted Baby Hat Pt.1

Hello Yearlings!

Back in the vein of knitting in the round with double pointed needles I decided to make a little hat for my baby nephew now that my mother is in town and I can send it home with her. Right now I cannot say that this project is particularly exciting but my hands were exhausted today because I actually started another project, quit halfway through and then just decided to start over on a totally different project. Originally I was making an adult hat, decided I hated it, and started over with a smaller form.

I know that this sort of looks like the photo I posted yesterday but I swear it's not, I actually started over. 
I know that this sort of looks like the photo I posted yesterday but I swear it’s not, I actually started over.

Ingredients:

Worsted weight yarn

Double pointed knitting needles, I think mine are a size 5

I found the pattern here, but will also post it below just to be safe.

For the hat: cast on 60 stitches
work 29 rows in knit one purl one
row 28 knit two together purl two
row 30 knit two together purl one
row 31 knit one purl one
row 32 knit one purl one
row 33 knit two together
row 34 knit two together
break a tail of thread about 20inches pull through live stitches draw tight and stitch together

I would love to be a  lot more done with this than I am, but I actually wanted to stave off on finishing it too quickly because I wanted to be super sneaky and use this as an opportunity to teach my mother to knit while she’s in town. I know that she’s been wanting to learn for quite some time, so this will be the perfect excuse for her to give it a whirl. I don’t think that I’ll let her finish off the project but I think it will be a good way to get some experience under her belt, then I can show her how to do all the rest.

I’m super sneaky guys, nobody has caught on yet!

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

