Day 213 – How to Make Tassels

Hello Yearlings!

Today has been totally exhausting, so I’m attempting to keep everything really simple and easy for you guys. I’m kind of embarrassed to say that it took me a surprising amount of time to figure out how to actually make tassels today. Mostly because I decided that I could figure it out on my own and didn’t need the help of the internet. I was completely wrong but I suppose it’s healthy to curse ones own hubris every once in a while. It keeps us all sane.

IMG_7049
Coil up an amount of floss that’s the thickness that you want.
IMG_7050
Use the end of your thread to tie a bit of a loop on one end of the circle.
IMG_7054
Cut the center of the loop opposite the knot that you’ve just created and use whatever means you wish to fan out the strings.
IMG_7057
Repeat as many times as you need.

Ingredients:

Embroidery Floss, I used several colors

Glue, technically you can just tie everything into place but I like to be extra secure

Tassels are a huge thing in fashion and jewelry right now and when we were in Italy I saw them everywhere. If you’re going to make these at home I highly recommend not being as unwaveringly stubborn as me and actually managing to get some direction/instruction. Unless, that is, you’re some sort of tassel making ninja. In which case I have no words for you. I think it was the whole looping of the thread end around the circle to make a knot that confounded me so much. I was trying to figure out how not to pull my own tassel and make everything unravel. That’s not what I wanted. Now all I have to do is actually put these on a piece of jewelry.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

