Day 197 – No Sign (Or the How To Deal With Questions Sign)

Hello Yearlings!

So while we were in Italy I stumbled across these amazing gardens that were maintained by the townsfolk in Cinque Terre. In an attempt to keep people from walking through the garden, or picking the flowers, they had these huge sign detailing all of the things that they would like for you to avoid doing if at all possible. That is all but one of them had this large and very detailed sign; this garden had a little white sign that very simply said the word “No” in little red letters.

After seeing this sign I immediately decided that I needed to make a version of it for myself so that the next time someone walks up to me in the office trying to ask me to do something I can just hold the sign up. It’s going to make a nifty addition to all of my little office doodads and my friend Jess has already asked me to make her one too. I found the wooden sign things that I use in this tutorial at Michael’s for super cheap so if you’re looking to recreate this that’s where you’ll find them!

For the life of me I couldn't figure out how to just paint on a simple 'No', so I ended up printing off a picture of the word no, painting it red and then cutting it out. 
For the life of me I couldn’t figure out how to just paint on a simple ‘No’, so I ended up printing off a picture of the word no, painting it red and then cutting it out.
Then I just mod podged the letters to the wood and once that was dried I mod podged over the whole thing to give it a barrier and sort of seal it. Now all that there's left to do is take it to work and watch it frustrate all of my colleagues! 
Then I just mod podged the letters to the wood and once that was dried I mod podged over the whole thing to give it a barrier and sort of seal it. Now all that there’s left to do is take it to work and watch it frustrate all of my colleagues!

Ingredients:

Wooden signs (I don’t actually know if this is what you’d call them, but it’s what I’m calling them)

White acrylic paint (optional)

Red paint

Stencil or picture

Paintbrush

I started out by painting the whole of my sign white, which was totally unnecessary because it already came white I just wanted there to be a bit of a buffer between the paint and the wood so that everything wouldn’t stain or stick. You do not have to do this it is totally optional. I wish I had better painting skills. As it stands if someone had access to all the world’s nuclear missiles and was telling me if I didn’t draw something perfectly that the world would explode, then I’m sorry guys but it would be ‘so long and thanks for all the fish’ for the entire human race. It is just not a skill that I have. Next one I make though, I’m getting a stencil!

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

