Day 195 – Basic Knit Stitches

Hello Yearlings!

As you all remember I have recently gotten into knitting as a pass time. I’ve been crocheting for a long time, but knitting is totally foreign to me and it’s been a very long and involved road to kind of just figure everything out and so I thought I might share some of what I had learned. The best way I could think to start this was with some super basic stitches that every knitter should have in their arsenal. This is nothing new or advanced, so if you’re an experience knitter than I recommend that you skip it, but I figured have a single place where all the basic knit stitches are listed might help some. Namely me.

The bottom section of this is single row ribbing, then double row ribbing, then seed stitch.
The bottom section of this is single row ribbing, then double row ribbing, then seed stitch.

 1. Garter Stitch: The garter stitch is when you knit each row. My first ever knit project, the washcloth, was done entirely in garter stitch with a some increasing and decreasing. The great thing about this stitch is that you don’t have to keep track of anything, all you have to do is knit. You don’t have to worry about counting stitches or switching off between a knit and a purl. It’s extremely straightforward and a great basic “beginner” stitch.

2. Stockinette Stitch: You produce the stockinette stitch whenever you switch off on your rows between knitting and purling. Unlike garter stitch you do have to concern yourself with a whole new stitch, but it’s quite easy and switching off every row is a total breeze. The stockinette stitch produces what I would consider to be the quintessential knit pattern with one flat side and one knobbly side. In patterns you will see it written as either stockinette or *knit one row, purl one row* (repeat**), or something of that kind depending on where you found the pattern.

3. Ribbing: I used single row ribbing technique whenever I made my knit coffee cup cozy, and it’s incredibly easy but it does require you to be a bit more flexible. In single row ribbing you start with an odd number of stitches then knit one, *purl one, knit one; repeat from *, in your first row and purl one, *knit one, purl one; repeat from * for your second row. Then you repeat the pattern created in your first two rows all the way to the end of your pattern. For double row ribbing you start with a multiple of 4 +2 (I started with 22 for the project pictured) then you just double up on your original pattern. *knit two, purl two* then *purl one, knit one* repeating.

4. Seed Stitch: This one is both the easiest and the most difficult. It’s the easiest because it’s so simple, but it requires the most movement on your part. It’s basically the same as the single row ribbing except that you start with an even number of stitches. Then you *knit one, purl one* for row one and *purl one, knit one* for row two repeated until the end of your pattern.

Hopefully you guys find this helpful. I know that it’s really good for me to have something I can draw on and I’m still learning new stitches literally every time I turn around so I’d like to slowly build up me repertoire of stitches. I intend to bring you guys along the way. Now I just have to do roughly a million projects so that I can get better.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

