Day 169 – Crystal Growing Kit

Hello Yearlings!

I don’t know what it is about all this childhood nostalgia I’m having but I am just on a roll right now. I think I’m mostly just trying to live in the now as I would have wanted to live when I was about ten. Does that make sense? Regardless, today I did something totally awesome! I started growing a crystal.

This is not really inherently awesome, and was actually really boring to look at because it takes so long to grow and nothing really happens on the first day, but I felt awesome doing it. I always wanted to do stuff like this, but being the girl there were a lot of things I wasn’t allowed to do at the times it would have been slightly more appropriate. Growing crystals and building rockets were for boys, so my brother got to do them and I got to look on in extreme jealousy as I plotted his imminent downfall. Now that I’m twenty five nobody can tell me that I can or cannot grow crystals, build rockets or play with fireworks. So that’s exactly what I plan on doing!

This is where I got my kit.

It's dead simple to grow a crystal. All you do is dissolve your crystal growing magic powder in whatever amount of boiling water your packet tells you to use, reserving some of the crystal growing powder for later.
It’s dead simple to grow a crystal. All you do is dissolve your crystal growing magic powder in whatever amount of boiling water your packet tells you to use, reserving some of the crystal growing powder for later.
Once your powder has been fully dissolved by the hot water place your rock into the solution, cover and let sit. After one hour you sprinkle the remaining crystal powder over your rock and then leave for a week for the crystal to form.
Once your powder has been fully dissolved by the hot water place your rock into the solution, cover and let sit. After one hour you sprinkle the remaining crystal powder over your rock and then leave for a week for the crystal to form.

Ingredients:

1 crystal grow kit

1 large container in which to grow your crystal

Boiling water

1 rock

Apparently you need the rock because the crystal has to have something porous to attach to and grow from, otherwise it will not form properly, according to Alex who has done this before because he actually got to do cool things as a kid. It’s going to take upwards of a week to really even see anything cool start to come out of this, but I don’t care because I’m growing a crystal and that’s awesome. Next up I’m building a rocket and digging for dinosaur bones. Now if you’ll excuse me I have an appointment to re-watch Jurassic Park and eat pop tarts.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

