Day 157 – (Late) National Donut Day

Hello Yearlings!

So apparently I do not know how to read a calendar. I knew that National Donut Day was coming up but I wrote down the day wrong. Actually I wrote the date right, just the day wrong. I thought it was Saturday the 5th, not that that’s a real thing, I just don’t know how to read a calendar. I didn’t want to let the opportunity pass me by, so I made you guys a cute little felt donut. Is it totally useless? Yes. Is it cute? Yes. Does it matter if it’s useful if it’s super cute? Apparently not.

Cut out equal circles in tan felt. If you have more felt at your disposal make your donut larger and actually cut out the middle.
Cut out equal circles in tan felt. If you have more felt at your disposal make your donut larger and actually cut out the middle.
Then cut out whatever topping you want. I just free-formed a blob form out of purple felt.
Then cut out whatever topping you want. I just free-formed a blob form out of purple felt.
Sew your edges together with embroidery felt. I feel like it goes without saying that you should not use a super dark thread like I did, but the color that matched didn't show up on camera so I had to use something you guys could see. Use a thread that matches.
Sew your edges together with embroidery felt. I feel like it goes without saying that you should not use a super dark thread like I did, but the color that matched didn’t show up on camera so I had to use something you guys could see. Use a thread that matches.
Then turn right side out, fill with fiberfil and sew closed. Then admire your work, ignoring the hideous dark stitching that makes you sad.
Then turn right side out, fill with fiberfil and sew closed. Then admire your work, ignoring the hideous dark stitching that makes you sad.

Ingredients:

Felt, in tan and purple

Fiberfill

Embroidery floss

While I was making this I actually had the realization that if I had some dried beans or filler I could easily use this as some sort of weight. Also, if you don’t want to bother trying to invisibly stitch the “icing” to the donut, then you could easily just use some fabric glue and glue it down instead. That would easily save you some time. The worst part of missing National Donut Day was missing the free donuts. The struggle is real guys.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

