Day 149 – Scott Pilgrim Perler Bead Coasters

Hello Yearlings!

I’m back to trying to figure out things to do with perler beads, so I can use up all the ones that I got in that humongous pack when I was making the poke badges for Stobaugh’s birthday! Ok, maybe that’s being a little dramatic. I actually really enjoyed this idea. It came to me as we were watching Scott Pilgrim VS The World that this comic/video game is in a very 8bit style and so it occurred to me how cute that would be to do something perler bead related with. Voila, this project was born!

You can find the patterns for Scott Pilgrim, Ramona Flowers and Wallace Wells. Kim Pine had to be free-handed from a picture that Alex found online.

I think these came out super awesome!
I think these came out super awesome!

Ingredients:

Perler Beads, in two types of turquoise, two types of red, brown, flesh, white and black

Peg board

Iron

Fusing paper

I originally started out with just Scott and Ramona, but was then informed that sets of coasters come in at least four so I was going to have to make two more, hence Kim and Wallace. I think if I had thought this through a little more I might have bought some felt or cork to glue to the back, but I kind of prefer the idea of being able to use either side and the moisture doesn’t really travel through the fused holes from what I’ve noticed. I wish I had been able to find more patterns, I would’ve made the whole band but I didn’t have enough time to make a pattern of my own and get all of these done before tonight.

Personally I think they’re totally awesome and I can’t wait to show them to my friends and make them all super jealous that they don’t have cool Scott Pilgrim coasters too!

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

