Day 140 – Death By Chocolate Brownies (From Sally’s Baking Addiction)

Hello Yearlings!

As you might remember from one of my earlier posts I am on a quest to find the perfect chocolate brownie. My first attempt was great, but a little too much like dense chocolate fudge than actual brownie, which isn’t my favorite but Alex loves them. Upon scouring the internet for more recipes I’ve stumbled upon what I think might actually be the perfect in-between to meet both of our brownie needs. I found this recipe on Sally’s Baking Addiction, and you can find the original recipe here. I will also list it below.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Melt your chocolate and butter in a sauce pan over medium heat then set aside to cool for ten minutes in a separate bowl.
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Melt your chocolate and butter in a sauce pan over medium heat then set aside to cool for ten minutes in a separate bowl. Once it’s cooled mix in your sugar, water, vanilla and each of the eggs one at a time. 
Fold in flour, cocoa powder and salt. Mix everything thoroughly.
Fold in flour, cocoa powder and salt. Mix everything thoroughly.
Pour batter into prepared baking dish I used 13x9 because it was what I had but it made them just a little bit too thin, and cook for 35 minutes.
Pour batter into prepared baking dish I used 13×9 because it was what I had but it made them just a little bit too thin, and cook for 35 minutes.
Allow to cool fully in pan, then take out and cut.
Allow to cool fully in pan, then take out and cut.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (115g) salted butter*

8 ounces (228g) coarsely chopped quality semi-sweet chocolate*

3/4 cup (150g) granulated sugar

1/4 cup (50g) packed light brown sugar

3 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup + 2 Tablespoons (80g) all-purpose flour (measure this accurately)

2 Tablespoons (11g) unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

These came out fantastic. They’re satiate that part of me that just deeply craves chocolate and if I had had any chocolate chips in the house wheneverI made these I would have thrown them in. Sadly I was out, but I think it was good regardless. I actually rounded the flour up to a full cup to give them more of a cake-y texture and that was perfect.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

