Day 132 – Petticoat

Hello Yearlings!

Today’s project is something that I’ve actually been wanting to try out for a good long while but had never gotten around to. I own a lot of dresses, like a lot a lot, and several of them tend to look a little flat if I don’t have anything to perk them up so I’ve started to get into the business of learning to make petticoats. They’re great at making your dresses look full and flirty and if you make them at home then you can control how many layers they have and you don’t have to shop around searching for the ever elusive “perfect petticoat”.

Cut your shirt below the collar, but leave enough for a "belt" of fabric. If you're using just plain knit fabric then all you have to do is measure your hips and add on a couple of inches of allowance for the elastic to gather.
Cut your shirt below the collar, but leave enough for a “belt” of fabric. If you’re using just plain knit fabric then all you have to do is measure your hips and add on a couple of inches of allowance for the elastic to gather.
Go ahead and sew the side seams together and fold over the top of the fabric by an inch and a half to two inches, more if your elastic is bigger. Sew that into place so that you've made a space for the elastic to go through.
Go ahead and sew the side seams together and fold over the top of the fabric by an inch and a half to two inches, more if your elastic is bigger. Sew that into place so that you’ve made a space for the elastic to go through.
Once you're done with your "belt", go ahead and pin your first layer of tulle onto the bottom of your knit fabric and sew it into place. I chose to do this in sections because whenever I tried to use one large piece of tulle and make it go all around it all got very complicated.
Once you’re done with your “belt”, go ahead and pin your first layer of tulle onto the bottom of your knit fabric and sew it into place. I chose to do this in sections because whenever I tried to use one large piece of tulle and make it go all around it all got very complicated.
Pin your next layer of tulle along the edge of your existing layer. This is where you begin to add additional layers of tulle for more fullness. Continue all the way down until you've gotten the level of fulness that you want and then just finish your seams, sew your sides together and you're done. I had a better picture of the finished product but my computer seems to have eaten it. I will try to get one of me wearing it under a dress tomorrow. 
Pin your next layer of tulle along the edge of your existing layer. This is where you begin to add additional layers of tulle for more fullness. Continue all the way down until you’ve gotten the level of fulness that you want and then just finish your seams, sew your sides together and you’re done. I had a better picture of the finished product but my computer seems to have eaten it. I will try to get one of me wearing it under a dress tomorrow.

Ingredients:

Knit fabric, I actually used part of an old t-shirt I had lying around

Elastic

Tulle

Thread

Sewing Machine

I cannot say that I would really condone making a petticoat in such varying colors, but it’s great for making a tutorial! To “style” this all you do is put it on under your dress, as high or low on your waist as you’re comfortable with, and when you’re wearing your dress it will look a lot fuller. I have some dresses that really just don’t look very good when they lie flat, but look excellent with a little bit of life to them. You might want to stave off adding multiple layers until you’ve had a little more experience making these.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

