Day 130 – Here’s To The Women (A Poem For Mothers Day)

Hello Yearlings!

I don’t know if you know this about me, but I was actually raised by goddesses. I could write you guys something sweet, touching and sappy about having a mother that was basically Superwoman but that’s just not how I do. Writing long-winded soliloquies about having someone that’s “always been there” is for the people who have only ever had one amazing woman in their lives. My mother is amazing in a different way, she’s so amazing in fact that she actually attracted other amazing women into her life that helped her through the hard times and celebrated her in her triumphs.

I was raised as the byproduct of a single mother and while I could tell you woeful tales of the tough times that’s not what today, or really any day, is about. My mother sought companionship and camaraderieĀ in a group of ladies that she met through church who rather aptly referred to themselves as “Goddesses”. What started as a once weekly brunch meeting turned into a lifelong friendship for her and eventually she began to bring me along and these mad wild women became a staple in my life. My mother often lamented the fact that her oldest friend in the world didn’t live closer and couldn’t be apart of this group, but I’ve never once in my life hurt for excellent female role models.

In honor of my mother and my many “mothers” I decided to write this little poem.

Here’s To The Women

Here’s to the women,

whether they’re mothers or not

Here’s to the women,

who raise us and nurture us

Here’s to the women,

that give it all up

Here’s to the women,

that show us their scars so that we may learn from their mistakes

Here’s to the women,

that teach we can be strong as well as kind

Here’s to the women,

that tell us to save our tears for out battle cries

Here’s to the women,

who loved despite themselves

Here’s to the women,

that taught us to rebel

Here’s to the women,

who told us we could be more

Here’s to the women,

that loved us even when we were less

Here’s to the women,

who never had any clue what they were doing

Here’s to the women,

that never gave up

But most importantly:

Here’s to the women,

that for some unknowable reason always loved us

No life is ever perfect, but I’m grateful for the strength of the women in mine. Thank you for allowing me to witness you.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

