Day 129 – The Texas Scottish Festival

Hello Yearlings!

It is that time of year again, the time that a bunch of fair skinned celts decide it’s an excellent idea to go stand outside for three days and throw large sticks, drink a lot of beer and listen to bagpipes. I have no idea how anyone came to the conclusion that having a weekend long outdoor event would be a good way to celebrate Scottish heritage but I’m grateful that it no longer happens in the middle of the Texas summer, as it once did. I actually took Alex to this for the first time ever last year and we decided to return and actually brought a friend.

As you might have guessed I’ve been to this a few times, I’ve actually gone (almost) every year since I was about 4 so it’s kind of a staple of my life. It was always the family summer event for us and we use to book a hotel room and go every day it was open, from Friday afternoon until Sunday evening. I got a lot of sunburns there and actually dreaded going every year because it seemed like no matter what I did, or how careful I was, I always seemed to get just a bit too much sun exposure. I swear the sun just seeks me out. So, because this is such a huge part of my life, I thought I would share the experience with you guys.

The caber toss is one of my favorite parts of the Scottish Festival. Who doesn't love to watch grown men throw gigantic beams across a field?
The caber toss is one of my favorite parts of the Scottish Festival. Who doesn’t love to watch grown men throw gigantic beams across a field?
This is the only part of the festival I've never really partaken of. I have literally zero skill when it comes to any form of Highland dance, though I've got plenty of impressive friends that can do this sort of stuff in their sleep.
This is the only part of the festival I’ve never really partaken of. I have literally zero skill when it comes to any form of Highland dance, though I’ve got plenty of impressive friends that can do this sort of stuff in their sleep.
This is probably the part that my mother was most disappointed to miss. There's very little she loves more on this earth than harassing men in kilts, especially if they've got bagpipes.
This is probably the part that my mother was most disappointed to miss. There’s very little she loves more on this earth than harassing men in kilts, especially if they’ve got bagpipes.

I mostly went for the music, which I realized afterwards that I did not get a remotely decent picture of but both my favorites were there: Clandestine and Ed Miller. I’ve been listening to the likes of both ever since I was a wee lass. There were even some really cool new acts, one of which included a remarkably enthused percussionist that played the bongos, not the most traditional of instruments, and at one point he actually got up and played both a large wooden box and a parade drum. My brain was so confused, but it was good regardless. It’s nice to see some fresh blood on the musical stages especially since I have been going to this event for so long.

Here comes the crazy part: I actually love to come to this event for the food. I know that British food and dentistry are on about even footing for how infamous they are but there are not really any decent pub grub places around me so this festival always satisfies my intense fried food tooth and tides me over to the next year. They have slinky potatoes, which are basically like sin and heaven had a baby, and this is the only place you can even get haggis in the DFW area at basically any point in time. I don’t do meat so most of the food is off limits to me, but according to Alex it’s well worth the wait and more enjoyable because of its relative rarity.

Hopefully I’ve done a bit of justice to the heritage of my people and our means of celebrating our pasty wild selves.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

