Day 63 – Lakewood Temptress Chocolate Stout Muffin Bread

Hello Yearlings!

I have been ogling this recipe from the Beeroness for a long time, and then Alex brought home one of my favorite beers and it seemed like the perfect time to give into temptation. It doesn’t hurt that I’ve been talking about “great Texas beer” and using fine Texas beer in my blog posts. This was literally just icing on the cake. Except there’s no cake, there’s only muffin bread.

IMG_5275
The ingredients. Preheat your oven to 350.
IMG_5278
I didn’t have any chocolate chips, so I chopped up a bar of chocolate into small pieces.
IMG_5279
Add the flour, salt, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, cornstarch, and chocolate chips stir to combine.
IMG_5280
Pour in the stout, oil and 2 tbs of the melted butter, stir until just combined, some lumps are expected.
IMG_5283
This is a very dense batter so if you’re having some trouble with it don’t worry.
IMG_5284
Pour into a loaf pan that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Pour the remaining butter over the top.
IMG_5290
Bake at 350 for 40 to 45 minutes or until a tooth pick inserted in the center comes out with just a few crumbs on it. Allow to cool before slicing.
IMG_5291
After about 15 minutes of cooling cut it up and serve to all of your impatiently waiting friends.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup coca powder
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1 tbs cornstarch
  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 10 ounces stout
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil
  • ¼ cup melted butter, divided in half

This came out a lot less sweet than I would have guessed. It’s very good, very dense but almost a little bit bitter. I think that might be more about my beer choice than anything else. I think if I’d chosen a sweeter stout it would have tasted sweeter. Though I don’t mind the way that it came out at all.

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

