Day 20 – Pinafore Pt 2

Hello Yearlings!

So today’s blog post is going to be the follow-up to yesterdays post, meaning that I had intended to complete the dress that we started yesterday. However, as is usually the case, real life got in the way and my mother was driving through town and asked to have dinner with me. This might not seem like much but my mother lives very far away from me and I rarely get to see her, and not nearly as often as I would like, so I leapt at the opportunity. This of course means that I didn’t get to finish the dress entirely and that tomorrow will indeed be a very short part 3 in the pinafore dress series. So sorry it’s taking so long, but alas, as is life.
 As I mentioned yesterday, you do not have to go the extra mile here. The skirt works perfectly by itself, and if you don’t think that a pinafore is right for you then good on you, keep the skirt just the way that it is. It’s light, cute and doesn’t require much effort on your part to make or take care of. I’m actually considering doing another one made of stretch fabric from a different pattern, so keep your eyes peeled for that one.

IMG_4256
Step 1: Take your left over fabric, use however much you need/want to make a sort of bib that you can attach to your skirt. I wanted mine to measure 10″x12″ so I overshot that by a little bit so that when I folded the edges over to make a hem that’s what I would get.
IMG_4260
Step 2: Pin your hem. I folded over all of my edges, except the bottom one, by about an inch.
IMG_4264
Step 3: Once you’ve pinned everything in place where you want it sew it all together. 

Step 4: Turn your bib and your skirt out so that once they’re sewn they will both face the same direction, then pin the un-hemmed edge of the bib to the band of the skirt being extra careful to avoid catching and pinning the elastic into place. You want everything to move naturally.

IMG_4270
Step 5: Sew everything together. Then celebrate the fact that you’re almost done. 
If you were doing this by the same step process that I did it, then step six would be: get a call from your mother that interrupts all evening plans and rush out the door to meet her for sushi.
It’s funny how I’ve noticed that the more I do, the more I want to do. I love the things that I’ve done, but now I want to do new and improved versions of them that I van give more time and effort to. I guess that’s to be expected. Now that I’ve done something I can see all of its flaws and all of the things that I wish I had done differently and want a chance at a do-over.
The “ingredients” for this portion of the dress are the exact same as they were in pt 1, with the exception that this portion actually requires less (less fabric and no elastic). This is a really simple portion of the dress, and the most difficult part is sewing the bib to the skirt without sewing into the elastic and making sure you don’t lay the band of the skirt too flat and loose all the gathering. Does that make sense?
Lots of Love,
Maya
Leave a Reply

