Day 6 – Tea Time Bunting

Hello Yearlings!

I love all things whimsical, so it’s no real surprise that I love Alice in Wonderland. I love it in the Lewis Carol sort of way, not the Johnny Depp, Tim Burton kind of way. I’ve been trying to think of a simple way to incorporate my love for Carol’s classic into projects for my blog. I certainly hit the nail on the head, and I even had a little help doing it.

IMG_3920
I found this fantastic book that gave me the idea
IMG_3923
Inside were these instructions for how to do tea party invitations, but instead of going that route I took the template and decided to turn them into bunting
IMG_3940
If you do not have a light box at your disposal just place your template and whatever you wish to put it on against your window
IMG_3941
I traced three of each
IMG_3949
Then you’re all set to cut them out using your exacto knife
IMG_3952
When you’re done cutting them out they should look like this
IMG_4036
Then go ahead and figure out the spacing that you will need for the bunting to sit how you want
IMG_4035
I use these bad boys to secure them to the ribbon so that they don’t flop around all over the place
IMG_4044
On you’ve got everything in place, glue it and you’re done
IMG_4045
This is a close up of how it all came out, I kept mine white with pink ribbon because I like the simplicity of it
IMG_4049
You can even string them across the Christmas tree that your roommate refuses to take down

All in all it was very simple, and I really enjoyed the project as a whole. It didn’t take me too long, and it would’ve been even less time if I hadn’t had to go to work. I think at most it took about an hour and that includes the run to the craft store to pick up pink ribbon.

Ingredients:

Exacto knife

Card stock

Ribbon

Glue Dots

A copy of Everything Alice (Optional)

To make my templates I traced a pre-existing template in the back then scanned it into my computer and blew it up until it was about the right size, then I printed it out and used that. It’s a could extra steps of work, but I’m not really a natural born drawer so it worked out best for me.

If you have any questions feel free to just ask!

Lots of Love,

Maya

Leave a Reply

